Equivocation on Meaning and Purpose

When you tell a friend “You mean a lot to me”, what are you actually saying? For me, I intend to communicate a deep emotional appreciation for my friend. This “meaning” was not given to me. It is a meaning that emerges from my personal emotions and desires.

Those who don’t believe in a personal god are frequently asked by Christians “If you don’t have a god to give you meaning in your life, why not just commit suicide since you must be miserable?”

Yet, the very Christians talk about a movie being “meaningful” to them, and their friends “meaning” a lot to them. These are “meanings” that are not handed to them by some god. Are these Christians knowingly equivocating on the word “meaning”? I’ll let you decide.

So we have 2 definitions of meaning.

1. Things that are emotionally significant to us.
2. Some purpose handed down to us by a superior.

Now for a couple questions.

Can someone be happy without a purpose being handed to them?

Obviously yes.

Can someone be unhappy after having been handed a purpose by a superior?

If you don’t think so, you’ve had a short career.

There is therefore no necessary causal connection between purpose and happiness.

Those who claim you can’t be happy without some god handing you purpose and “meaning” are either knowingly equivocating on their terms, or are severely confused about what purpose and meaning actually are.

Can you imagine a slave claiming he can not be happy without a master giving him orders? Can you imagine a person unable to find happiness in life because the have no god to guide them? I can’t. I find no evidence for any god, yet I find so many things to be happy about.

Don’t let people fool you by suggesting life without some god is miserable.

Write a comment below if you still don’t believe me. I’ll contact you personally to tell you my story of how I went from being a Christian slave, dependent entirely on the will of the god of my imagination, to a life full of meaning and happiness.

One thought on “Equivocation on Meaning and Purpose

  1. […] An insight on meaningfulness […]

Leave a Reply

