Heaven Help Us

mountain

  • “… If ye have faith as a grain of mustard seed, ye shall say unto this mountain, Remove hence to yonder place; and it shall remove; and nothing shall be impossible unto you.”
    Matthew 17:20
  • “If you ask anything in my name, I will do it.”
    John 14:14.

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.0):
Heaven helps those who believe in Heaven.

Henry: Ok God. Remember last night I mentioned that I’d like this mountain moved so I can grow enough food to feed my family. I don’t mean to pry, but will you move the mountain anytime soon?

God: It may have been that you were not sincere. Do you really believe that I can move the mountain?

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.1):
Heaven helps those who sincerely believe in Heaven.

Henry: Alright God. You know I’ve been on my knees for a month asking from the bottom of my heart that you remove this mountain. Is it possible to have it moved soon?

God: You may have been sincere in your faith, but have you made certain that you asked unselfishly?

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.2):
Heaven helps those who sincerely and unselfishly believe in Heaven.

Henry: God. You know I’ve been on my knees for another 2 months asking that you remove this mountain simply so I can grow crops to feed my family. Did I perhaps overlook some subconscious selfishness in my heart? I noticed that the mountain is still there.

God: You’ll have to do your part too. Do you actually think my promise to move a mountain meant that you don’t have to do your part?

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.3):
Heaven helps those who sincerely and unselfishly believe in Heaven and help themselves.

Henry: I’m back, God. As you can see, I’ve spent the last 3 years digging away at the mountain, and have made decent progress. Could you now do as I requested and move the other 99% of the mountain?

God: Oh you foolish child. I did as you requested. I gave you the strength to move 1% of the mountain. Keep shoveling. Did you think I’d answer your request within a couple years? Isn’t that a bit selfish?

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.4):
Heaven helps, when it’s good and ready, those who sincerely and unselfishly believe in Heaven and help themselves.

Henry: Are you ready yet, God? I’m 58 now, my strength is faltering, and most of my children have died from hunger. But note that I still have faith that you’ll help me out as I requested.

God: Do you suppose that you can impose your will on me? Have you ever considered my feelings? It has not been my will to help you out yet.

Henry: But I’m a bit confused since none of these conditions were in your initial promise.

God: Do I not have the right to change my mind? Besides, if I did something that was obviously impossible, everyone would believe in me. Is that what you want?

Henry: But I thought that was what you wanted.

ANSWERED PRAYER (VERSION 1.5):
If it is Heaven’s will, Heaven helps, when it is good and ready, those who sincerely and unselfishly believe in Heaven and help themselves.

Henry: God. You’ll note that I’m dying after shoveling away on that mountain for most of my life. I’ve noted that most of those who do not believe in you never had mountains interfering with raising crops for their families. Did I miss something else in your promise?

God: It doesn’t matter. You lived all your life believing in me, and now you get to go to Heaven. You do believe that promise, don’t you? Don’t you? Henry?


ANSWERED PRAYER (BETA VERSION 2.0):
Heaven helps everyone who helps themselves only to the degree that they help themselves, exactly as if there were no Heaven.

  • WARNING: Promises contained in the Holy Scriptures must be reinterpreted by others who know how to properly twist them into alignment with material expectations.

POSTSCRIPT: That Sunday in church, Henry’s wife testified and praised God for considering their family worthy of suffering for the sake of God’s blessed word…which he most certainly keeps.


3 thoughts on “Heaven Help Us

  1. john says:

    hey phil, i’m trying to understand your point here.

  2. John says:

    That clarifies where you’re going with this…

Leave a Reply

