Laughing At Self

funnyI was once an actor in a situational comedy. It was called “Phil, the Teen Years”. It was based on the premise that this kid gets thrown into life without a clue. It was a big hit among my abusive schoolmates and others who happened to stop and point and laugh at the high-resolution screen of my life.

It was such a big hit, it has now entered its 4th season (PHIL – THE PHOURTIES). And though the humor has become slightly more sophisticated, it is still essentially one big gawfaw.

I enjoy the acting. Each evening after filming, I go home and replay each take. I really can’t help but laugh out loud.

Some of my fellow actors have unfortunately developed what the industry calls “existential angst”. They attempt to hi-jack a perfectly hilarious script and make it a melodrama or action-adventure.

I slapped one such friend recently, and told him “Listen, you know you were brought on as a comedy actor because you’re funny! Look at yourself! You and I both are nothing but carbon-based hilarity. We fart in places we don’t want to, and will walk around all day with toothpaste on our faces. Get a grip and lose some dignity!”

He unfortunately got thrown off the set the next day for throwing a chair at the live audience who had been paid 20 bucks to simply laugh whenever they caught him picking his nose.

What’s my gag? I’m a 47-year-old guy still trying to bust a move on the dance floor. I ride around Tokyo on a funky bicycle with a dish-washing rack on the back for my computer bag. And good news! It looks like I’ll be around for another season or two since I still often put my sweater on backwards.

Leave a Reply

